Lost in Translation

1. I’m watching “Lost in Translation” (hence the title). I watched it back in 2004 or so and was in the mood to see it again. For those who haven’t seen it, you should definitely rent it.

2. I had a dirty dream involving Courtney from Sex and the Traveling Satchel. I’m not gonna share the details here, but I pretty much rocked her world.

3 . The title of this journal has another tie-in…

I thought maybe the Cute Starbucks Barista stories were becoming overkill, so I decided to take a break, but I’ve had a couple people ask me if there has been any updates. Despite my better judgment, I will share the latest interaction. Enjoy another addition to my growing list of failures.

On one of my days off this week, I decided to go through the drive-thru on the recommendation of one of you awesome bloggers. This idea was nothing short of brilliant. CSB was working the drive-thru and this situation seemed like nothing more than a coincidence.

CSB: “You’re total is (some insane amount of money for coffee)”
Me: “Oh, hey, what’s up?”
CSB: “Oh! You’re (says my name) aren’t you? I didn’t even recognize you, you look so different!”
Me: “Well, I’m not wearing my work clothes for once.”
CSB: (Reaches to get my change while saying..) “So, tell me about yourself, since I don’t know anything about you.”
Me: (Sheer panic as I never saw this coming) “Um..well, uh. As you know I work at Verizon, but I hate it. It’s not what I want to be doing.”
CSB: “What do you want to be doing?”
Me: “Something in radio or TV since that’s what I went to school for.”
CSB: “Oh really? That’s cool.”
Me: “What about you?”
CSB: “I’m going to school and majoring in dance and early childhood development”
(Praise God she’s in college and not high school)
Me: “Oh wow, that’s really interesting.”

At this point I was super stoked because she asked me to tell her about myself, remembered my  name and was chatting me up in the drive-thru line (granted there was no one behind me).
However, the conversation then turned to (ugh) cell phones. We talked about the deal she could get with Verizon, but she mentioned how it was still beneficial to stay with T-Mobile. Despite the change in convo, everything was going well. I literally had my business card with personal phone number on it in my hand ready to give it to her…

…but it all began to go wrong when she asked why she would want to pay more for Verizon. I responded by saying she would get better coverage and best of all, she would have me as her sales rep, so you can’t beat that. This comment was meant as a little playful, flirty joke, which I expected to be met with an equally flirty response. However, this comment was either not understood or not well received as she just looked confused. I quickly said something else to move passed that.

I, with business card still in hand, then asked why she was nervous the other day. She said she was worried I would pressure her into getting a phone. I told her I would never do that. Then she responded with “It kinda feels like you are.”

It was said somewhat playfully, but I immediately panicked and thought maybe she meant it. Each of our conversations involved phone talk because that’s how this whole thing began. I felt bad that she might actually feel that way.

So, as I said, I panicked, told her I would never pressure her into getting Verizon again, asked when she was working next (Thursday) and told her I’d probably see her since I go to Starbucks everyday.

Ugh.

I am so dumb and panic way too easily. As usual our interactions are part awesome and part confusing.

In any event, I did not see her working today, so I’m not sure what happened there.

So. There you have it. I am an epic fail. Again.

Hopefully these stories aren’t becoming overkill, but I think its fun to write about and I enjoy reading everyone’s responses.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Lost in Translation

  1. Why don’t you tell her, next time you see her, you’re not interested in talking about cellphones or Verizon (indirectly, don’t use the exact words, of course) and see what happens? It seems as if she turns the conversation to Verizon and you keep with that because you think that’s what she wants to talk about but she’s feeling “phone-company-stalked”?…hmm, btw, I miss you.

  2. heavensenthellbent

    1. Love that movie. I actually just watched it again a few weeks ago.

    2. Man no details, that sucks. But I am sure you rocked her world.

    3. Girls are confusing, we know that. Its too bad she couldn’t understand your playful comments cuz as everyone knows here in the blog world you’re filled with them. And might I add look at you, you’re harmless.

    I miss you more than Thrice well maybe not more definitely the same amount.

  3. Thrice/PiC – Thanks for the words of wisdom. I miss you both equally.

  4. Eh, don’t read too much into her comment. She probably didn’t even think twice about saying that and was just kidding. She sounds like she is still nervous to be talking to you.

  5. Bloggy – I hope that’s what it is. She seems relatively calm, but it’s hard to say. Thanks for the input!

  6. “2. I had a dirty dream involving Courtney from Sex and the Traveling Satchel. I’m not gonna share the details here, but I pretty much rocked her world.”

    umm. i’m gonna need to know details. pronto. you know my e-mail.

  7. and p.s. i’m kind of interested in what you think i look like! was i a cartoon avatar in your dream??

  8. Courtney – Your avatar does it for me. What can I say?

  9. I’ll let Christina know she did a great job with making the avatar.

  10. shorty

    i have to say, and this might be judgmental, but you need a girl who can match your joking/flirty/quick conversation style. otherwise it will just continue to be awkward and NO FUN to talk to her. give it a couple more chances, and if the girl can’t flirt properly, ask her if she has a sister.

  11. shorty – Although the “ask her if she has a sister” advice is awesome and usually right in my wheel house, I can clearly see what you are doing here.
    You are trying to sabotage my inevitable nights of passionate sex with CSB because you are trying to keep me on the back burner. Soooo transparent shortcake.

Leave a Reply

