Mission: Accomplished….?

I made my first stop on my Charleston tour yesterday, but that is on hold for the time being. I felt like doing a lame, bullet-point journal revolving around politics (gasp!)

1. It has been 2,212 days since former President George W. Bush declared  “Mission Accomplished” during his clearly staged photo op…er um, speech on the U.S.S. Abraham Lincoln. Over 4,200 American soldiers have died during this second Iraq War. A vast majority of those deaths occurred after the mission was “accomplished.”

2. I am a huge Barack Obama supporter and have been since I first heard him speak back in 2004ish. I have been fairly happy with the job he has done so far, but I will not blindly believe everything he does is right. This is one of the things I despised about Bush supporters. I refuse to be like that. So..

2a. I was pretty disappointed with his reversal a couple weeks ago. He was going to release the so-called “abuse photos” to show the awful things a small number of troops did to detainees under Bush’s watch. As you all probably know, he opted not to. We need to at least KNOW what occurred. I know we will look bad, but that’s tough shit. We claim to be a  more civilized nation that would never do what terrorists do. Sadly, some of our own troops proved this theory wrong. We have to accept responsibility, learn from it, and move forward.

2b. In the last two weeks I have seen two separate stories that I hope Obama has seen too. Two men were kicked out of their branch of the military because they were gay. “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” needs to be repealed IMMEDIATELY. These are people who are vital to our military and it is asinine to relieve them of their duties just because of their sexual orientation. Obama has said a change is needed for this policy – well, get on it then.

3. Dick Cheney needs to shut the hell up. I’m so tired of seeing him on political talk shows and in the news. I swear I have seen him on the news more in the last month than I did in the entire 8 years he was our Vice President. The man makes a good villain, I will give him that.

4. This is slightly related to politics. James Harrison, a linebacker who plays for the Super Bowl Champion Pittsburgh Steelers refused to go to the White House to meet Obama, saying “This is how I feel — if you want to see the Pittsburgh Steelers, invite us when we don’t win the Super Bowl. As far as I’m concerned, [Obama] would’ve invited Arizona if they had won.”
Um, duh. You are a moron. Presidents ALWAYS invite the Champions to the White House. It’s meant to be a celebration. It’s been going on for years. You freakin idiot.

5. I love the people who freaked out when Obama said he was going to close Guantanamo Bay. People were losing their minds because they would not stand for these detainees to be transferred to U.S. prisons. Um, if we can keep all the serial killers, rapists, and other criminals behind bars, I’m sure we can handle these guys too. They aren’t super human..what the hell are they worried about?
Besides the fact that these clowns aren’t going to break out of prison, let’s think about prison for a minute…If the other inmates find out that terrorists have been moved into their prison, what do you think they are going to do to the terrorists? This may be the type of punishment they deserve…

6. The more and more information that comes out, the more it becomes apparent how shady the Bush administration was. There is now news about Alberto Gonzalez signing off on the torture of some prisoners. It keeps getting worse and worse, yet nothing is being done about it.

7. Finally, Keith Olberman (MSNBC) has said he will pony up $1,000 for every second Sean Hannity (FOX News) withstands being waterboarded. Hannity says “waterboarding is a fair and necessary interrogation technique for suspected terrorists; Olbermann calls it torture, says it’s ineffective and should not be done by Americans” (source). Amazing. These bone-heads on TV (especially Fox News) make these moronic statements and its great to see someone calling them on it. If waterboarding is so necessary and not that bad, then man-up and experience it. Douche.

Thoughts?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Mission: Accomplished….?

  1. Shorty

    I enjoyed this post. I like it when you muse over politics – partly because you’re briefing those of us who don’t pay enough attention and partly because I almost always agree with you.

    And partly because it’s the only time you sound intelligent 😉

  2. heavensenthellbent

    I agree with shorty, when you talk politics you sound not only intelligent but you sound sexy.

    I like Olbermann, I can’t believe how far hes come. From being a sportscenter guy to having his own show. I enjoy hearing what he has to say, and it would be interesting to watch the guy from fox get waterboarded. I hate fox guys, mainly because my old work the bosses and another guy were Republican and loved fox and loved Rush and all they did all day was make fun of Obama.

    Good post now tell me what you did yesterday!

  3. Shorty – Thanks…and you are a jerk.

    PiC – Damn right it’s sexy. I still remember Olbermann and Patrick doing “The Big Show” back in the day. I generally agree with his standpoints, but he goes nuts sometimes.
    How can anyone love Rush? He is one of the biggest idiots I’ve ever heard.

  4. hmmm….I wish I agreed with Heavens and Shorty…but I hate politics so..nothing related to them is sexy to me 😦

  5. Isn’t Hannity going to be waterboarded sometime soon? I thought I heard he was going to do it.

  6. Ania – I don’t think he has accepted the challenge yet..I could be wrong though

  7. I am so with you on Cheney. WTF, Dick? Your mouth is STAPLED SHUT for all 8 years and now all of a sudden I can’t get your know-it-all voice out of my head?? Get lost, buddy. Don’t you have some hunting to do?

  8. LiLu – Maybe he’s just bored?

Leave a Reply

